Decorating a Girl’s Room Can Take Years

When we purchased our home a few years ago, the secondary bedroom that ultimately became my daughter’s looked like this (scanned photo, sorry about the graininess) :

What this room looked like when the previous owners lived here

Formerly a boy’s room, I had a long way to go to make it suitable for my princess.  So I know you’re automatically going to assume that I painted the room pink or purple, but you would be wrong.  Because I knew there would be plenty of color introduced via art, accessories, and textiles, I decided NOT to go too girlie with the paint color.  My final decision was to paint the walls with Laura Ashley Olive 3, a Valspar signature color at Lowes home improvement store.

Laura Ashley Olive 3

Low walls with sloping ceilings like these often create a unique design challenge for homeowners.  It would be no exception for us with all the furniture that we wanted to make work in this space.  We had purchased an older, second hand Ethan Allen bedroom suite the first year we were married.  Recently upgrading to a new set with a KING bed, we decided to paint the former Ethan Allen set white and make it work in our daughter’s new room.  There was only one full size wall for the mirrored dresser to fit, and we were fortunate that the headboard did not block any of the window when centered underneath.  Two nightstands are always ideal for symmetry.  Here’s how the room turned out when I thought we were done:

Fully Furnished with POPS of Color!

I also made good use of a corner with low walls by creating a study niche with furnishings from IKEA.  Don’t you just love the Expedit line?

IKEA Expedit in White

But then we went to visit my family in Wisconsin over spring break this year, and I found these antique chairs in my parent’s basement that once belonged to my great grandma.  I thought they would look really cool painted hot pink, so I added one to the room as an accent chair and the other would be used in her built-in bathroom vanity.

Antique Chairs Painted Hot Pink

Over the years I have discovered that decorating is addicting, and a project is never finished when you think it is.  I have added a few new accessories and even more recently stumbled upon this fabulous multi-color Gypsy chandelier from TuesdayMorning.com.  I haven’t had the chance to have it installed yet, but here’s a sneak peak:

Tuesday Morning Gypsy Chandelier

If we ever get it installed, maybe this room will finally be finished?

About Centerpiece Home Staging

Managing Member / Owner Centerpiece Home Staging LLC
This entry was posted in Art, bobvila, Decor, Decorating Tips, Home Improvement, Interior Design and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.