Bachelor Pad Bungalow – A Staging® Success Story

Several weeks ago one of my clients at Keller Williams contacted me about an upcoming listing of hers.  The seller was a repeat client of hers, and he needed to get his bachelor bungalow sold ASAP because he was getting married in just a few short weeks!  The listing agent met me at the house so I could preview the property and come up with a staging® plan to present to her client.  Given the seller’s busy schedule, everything was planned and organized via text and email – what would we do without today’s technology?

Upon entering the home, it was obvious that the seller owned a dog (note ironing board and ladder on sofas in below photo).  I communicated to the seller the importance of finding a neighbor or friend for Toby the dog to stay with during the duration of the selling process.  While pets are often part of the family, not all prospective buyers feel the same way.  Buyers could have allergies, phobias, or other adverse psychologies about pets so it’s best to remove them from the selling equation altogether.

Moving on, this room is the first room that potential buyers will see when they enter this two bedroom ranch bungalow.  Does this room reflect the seller’s $350,000 desired price point?

Living Room Before Staging

This home needed staging®.  The existing furnishings were already neutral and the appropriate size and scale, so basic home accessories and textiles is all it took to transform this space.  Being an ASP® home staging® professional, I always try to work with the sellers’ things as much as possible to save them money.  I just switched out the sellers slightly worn area rug and brought in pops of red via toss pillows and art.  I knew the reds in this room would photograph really well for MLS.  Texture was also added by bringing in the silk tree found in the corner.  Lamps were upgraded and the tray I staged® on the cocktail table works nicely in this space.  Check out the finished space below:

Living Room After Staging

Below is a photo of what the dining room looked like before I staged® it.  While the chandelier is nice, the room lacked color and depth – and what’s going on with the teeny tiny transparent glass wall clock on the main large wall?

Dining Room Before Staging

I removed the washed out white window panels and replaced them with some red microfiber ones.  The red ties in nicely with the accent colors used in the adjoining living room.  A much larger old world wall clock was installed on the large main wall and two wine prints were added to another wall.  Place settings and a nice centerpiece imply great entertainment can be had here.  Check out the finished room below:

Dining Room Staged

Living/Dining After Staging – Notice that red accents tie the two spaces together

Lastly I will highlight the two bedrooms in this home beginning with the master.  Again the master bedroom’s current state did not reflect the seller’s desired $350,000 price point.  There was also no focal point in this room.  I moved the bed to the main wall between the windows.  The two nightstands that I installed were the only actual pieces of furniture that I brought into this home from the outside.  The exercise equipment was stored, and I moved a few pieces out that I used to stage® the guest bedroom.  Check out the before and after photos below:

Master Bedroom Before

Master Bedroom Staged: Rearranged furniture and brought in pair of matching nightstands and lamps

The guest bedroom is probably my favorite transformation of all the rooms in this home.  Before staging® the guest bedroom, all this room contained was a full-size bed shoved in the corner with a milk crate nightstand and bicycle storage.  I wish I would have captured this room on “film” before I began, but unfortunately I did not.  When I started moving the bed, I found two great pieces of canvas art hidden under the bed!  I used the bed and this art to create a focal point in the room.  I brought in the single nightstand from the master bedroom as well as the storage ottoman to create a nice reading area in this room.  Just a few more accessories were added to complete this space.

Guest Bedroom Staged

The results…well my company staged® this home on a Monday and my professional photographer came on Wednesday of that same week.  It was then entered into MLS and had four showings the first day on market.  Those showings resulted in two offers and a contract.  Both buyers’ agents said “the staging® was so well done and made the differences in the houses they saw!”  The home sale closed today, and I could not be happier for my clients.

About Centerpiece Home Staging

Managing Member / Owner Centerpiece Home Staging LLC
This entry was posted in Art, bobvila, Charlotte Home Staging, Home Staging, Home Staging Tips, Lake Norman Home Staging, Real Estate and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.